Fixing the Dryer

Not that long ago the dryer stopped drying and the first thing that went through my mind was “oh great one more thing to pay for”. Before I called someone to have it repaired I made a the decision to try to determine if I could figure out how to fix it myself. After researching various options online for about 45 minutes I concluded it was the heating element that had gone bad. I called a few repair shops around town to see how much it would cost and ended up finding one on Amazon.com for 30% less. After waiting a few days to receive it in the mail I pulled up a very useful YouTube video and was able to replace it myself. I even did the bit of extra cleaning on the inside of the dryer  that was suggested to make it more efficient.

Overall, I saved myself at least $100. Not only did I eliminate the average base service call charge of $60-$80, but I also saved money on the element itself by shopping around for the part.

Next time something of yours breaks, I would encourage you to take some time and see if it is something you can fix yourself. Just make sure you take precautions to be safe and verify the first source you find with another to ensure they are telling you how to repair it correctly. If you succeed you not only may save yourself money but you will learn something in the process.

 

Leave a Reply

