Living Without Cable/Satellite TV

I know, I know, it is almost unthinkable. What in the world would we possibly do with all of our time if we didn’t spend it watching TV.

In all seriousness, I do believe it was a great decision to not hook up cable or satellite when I purchased my home 8 years ago. At first it was a bit of an adjustment because I had to find other things to discuss with friends and co-workers but that quickly changed. With a large number of people claiming they never have time to get things done, it becomes much easier when you free up a few hours of your time each day.

Not only does it save me money by not having to pay the monthly bill but I think it helps reduce my spending in other areas as well. I don’t watch commercials, seeing all of the things I would like to have and more importantly the kids don’t consistently ask me for the toys they see in the ads. I don’t see restaurant commercials, tempting me to go out to eat instead of cooking at home.

There are so many other things to do that if you haven’t already eliminated this expense I would strongly encourage you to do so. At first you may get a bit bored but it shouldn’t take long to fill you extra time with other activities that don’t cost anything. To get you started try working on your to do list that you are always putting off or picking up some books from the library. If you start to really miss sitting in front of the rectangular screen try watching some of the DVDs you may already own.

What do you fill your extra time with when not watching television?

 

2 comments

  1. I have never had cable, but we do have one of those digital boxes that converts our old tv to pick up local programming with an antenna. I never want to get cable either–and it is such an expense!

    1. It’s definitely an expense I’m happy to live without.

Leave a Reply

